22 yo normal girl’s Failure Resume

I think so
3 min readNov 6, 2022

--

Just a quick reflection after spending all week traveling through 4 cities in 1 week, walking continuously for about 12 hours per day under strange skies and accidentally looking at hundreds of thousands of strangers’ faces, suddenly I’ve realized trying to “gồng” and only showing the brighter side of myself is nonsense. Because the world is too large, people are all busy and human connections are too easy to break, ‘Những người khác” really don’t care about you as you think and “Gia đình và những người Bạn” are not with you for flashy things.

At the same time, I realized that failures and rejections are parts of the story, more than awesome titles, more than rewards, the messier reality of an imperfect person is my true soul. Perhaps embracing vulnerability and trying to feel comfortable with my imperfections would be the bravest things I should do to encourage myself to face a tough uphill climb ahead in the journey of traveling through this life.

Do a Google search and you’ll find lots of ways to practice being comfortable with your vulnerabilities. I’ve got ideas from several sources and thought it will be fun to make a Failure Resume. Lesson learn, writing down your mess is much more difficult than cooking a professional “blink blink” resume.

Hope you enjoy 🤟!

Update:

After one week of writing this, I collected for myself a few more failures, and I am proud of all that mess. And I also have received a lot of questions like, “Why you said you are updating your CV", “Oh, you are going to quit the job?”, “Is something wrong going on at your company?”, especially when the layoff trend is happening in tech industry, updating a CV seems very sensitive, right? =))))

Warning in advance, I was not writing this because of anything related to the layoffs trend, quitting the job, conflict with the boss, or promotion issues,… I just want to be brave and remind myself of what is really important to me.

My fellows, you might all know, at FTU, there are very specific and influential trends, as big (or maybe bigger) as Mono. That is shining like a star in big competitions stages, having a high position & flashy title in the club/organization, becoming Management Trainee in the top MNCs, pursuing a few shaped career paths (Marketing, Finance, Logistics, HR, Sales, Consulting) in specific top companies (MBB, Big 4, …). I’m not saying the above isn’t excellent, it’s definitely excellent. But that’s not the reason I have to copy to be successful and outstanding. And after all, to be happy.

More than anything, I’m happy (and I call it a success) when I find myself growing every day, in my own way, from all the experiences I've been through, both good and BAD. So writing down my failures resume just has the meaning of wanting to show up my appreciation and respect for all aspects of myself, nothing more. And I choose to present it as a CV just because it was my way of showing my good side before, so what better way to show up the not-so-good (or bad) side than a reverse version?

--

--

I think so

Sharing things I’m learning through my daily read and other interests.